Organisation Chart

The following Organisation Chart shows the organizational structure of the Alfred Wegener Institute. Please click for more information on the individual fields.


        Potsdam         |           Sylt           |     Helgoland     |      Oldenburg

Prof. Dr. B. Diekmann     |     Dr. K. Mölter     |    Dr. C. Hofmann     |    Prof. Dr. H. Hillebrand

Internal Boards
Scientific Council
Ombudsman | Equal Opportunities Officer
Staff Council

International Offices |
National Offices

User Boards for Large Equipment

Scientific Divisions, Technologies and Services

Infrastructure /


Scientific Workshop
Dr. J. Lemburg

Corporate Finances
G. Wiedenhöft (temp.)

Administration and Organization
M. Bong-Bertram

Construction and Facility Management
M. Krüger

Technology and Environmental Protection
G. Strelow

Research Support
Dr. L. Henning

Administration IT
A. Sedlaczek

S. Götsch

Junior Research Groups

Dr. J. Müller

Dr. C. Treat

Dr. F. Adolphi


Dr. M. Langer

Prof. Dr. I. Weikusat

Dr. J. Hauck
Dr. C. Havermans

Dr. M. Fernàndez-Méndez
Dr. C. Meunier


 Prof. Dr. T. Laepple          Dr. H. Goessling

Status: November 2021